EV, PHEV, and Hybrid Vehicles

Toyota, in a rather vague comment, claims to have found a “material” that solves the longevity issue with solid state batteries that will result in a 932 mile range EV, rechargeable in 10 minutes, by -

:scream:

Maybe they should stop right now and repurpose those same engineers to go back to turning lead into gold…

6 Likes

They discovered Unobtainium?!

1 Like

More like dilithium crystals Scotty!

4 Likes

Good. I’ll take an electric F70 Landcruiser with 900 mile range and 10 minute recharge. Order is in. What can Toyota do for my Surface Pro X battery life?

4 Likes

If you thought the Apple Vision Pro was overpriced, wait until you see that 7 figure Landcruiser bill…

1 Like

I loved my old FJ40. Stolen from my lawschool parking lot just before I graduated. But, I do digress.

6 Likes

Weighs 6 tons, and you have to plug it into a 440 socket.

1 Like

yeah but only one of them is actual fun to use :wink:

1 Like

Hi Gang -

Changed this thread’s title to get a more general discussion of the “electrification” of our driving fleet. The reason being, my PHEV (plug-in hybrid vehicle), the 2018 Honda Clarity. TL&DR - it is still the best PHEV sedan out there, even over the newly redesigned Toyota Prius Prime (see Marques Brownlee’s review of the Prius Prime here).

To begin with, the Clarity was a four year experiment by Honda to develop a single platform to publicly test a hydrogen fuel cell car (never got out of California as I recall), an all electric car (89 mile range available only as a leased vehicle in CA and OR - yuck), and the “generally” available PHEV :+1: :+1:

I took delivery of my Clarity PHEV in November 2018. It is basically an Accord with some strange quirks. I still have it (yes, unusual for this tech disposer) and it was a look at the Prius Prime at our local dealer that put my wallet back in my pocket.