What got you In to Tablet PCs?

So, we’ve had the conversation of sharing our Tablet PC history, but a conversation with @Marty and @Desertlap had me thinking about WHY we’re Tablet PC aficionados.

For me, it’s all about art. I’ve been a traditional artist for a long time, mainly watercolor, markers, and inks. And while I can carry around a sketchbook, and a pen pretty easily, when I add watercolors, or my marker set to the mix, now I’m carrying quite a bit more, and there’s setup involved, especially for the watercolor.

Way back in the day I had friends in graphic design school who worked with Photoshop and a Wacom tablet (this is before they had any screen tablets), and I messed around with them a little. I liked the ability to edit my work easily and fill in base colors, etc, and always thought, man, if they could make this a screen, and computer all in one, I would be all over it. Unfortunately, when the Asus EP 121 came out and was my dream device, I didn’t have the cash flow to buy one at the time. But I did eventually save up enough to buy an HTC Flyer as a digital sketchbook that I downloaded Evernote and Sketchbook Pro onto and used as a digital notebook and sketchbook. I loved that thing as long as it lived and I was hooked.

The OS isn’t necessarily all that important to me as long as I have something to take notes/write on, and a good art program, so I’ve tried Android, Windows, and IOS, and currently am using iPad Pros for my art.

There’s definitely trade offs. Digital art will probably never really replace traditional media fully for me, but the ability to just pick up my IPP and start sketching, and turn that into a full piece, without having to pull out paints, a larger canvas, etc, but to work anywhere at any time on it, is still amazing to me, and so very worth it.

5 Likes